Fire service staff receive New Year Honours

The National Fire Chiefs Council (NFCC) would like to congratulate those people from UK Fire and Rescue Services who have been recognised in the 2019 New Year Honours list.

NFCC Chair, Roy Wilsher said: "Once again we have seen people from fire services across the UK receive honours. It is a reflection of the dedication and hard work of individuals who work tirelessly to make a difference to the lives of people in the communities they serve; my congratulations to you all. The honours recognise the achievements and services of extraordinary people across the United Kingdom."

These were decided by an honours committee; the committee's decisions then go to the Prime Minister and on to the Queen.

The Honours system recognises people who have:

  • Made achievements in public life
  • Committed themselves to serving and helping Britain
  • Have made life better for other people
  • Be outstanding at what they do
  • Make a difference to their community or field of work
  • Long-term voluntary service
  • Improve life for people less able to help themselves
  • Display moral courage

The list below highlights people from fire and rescue services - and the wider sector - who have received a New Year’s Honour from the Queen.

MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire)
  • Mr Farshid RaoufiCambridgeshire Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Nicholas Coombe: London Fire Brigade
  • Mr John Bowden: Cornwall Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mrs Heather Smart: Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service
 BEM (British Empire Medal)
  • Mr Andrew Parkin: Leicestershire Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Hamish Thompson: Gloucestershire Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Edward Wing: Bedfordshire Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Michael Humphries: Northamptonshire Fire & Rescue Service 
QFSM (Queen’s Fire Service Medal)
  • Mr Thomas Johnson: Cumbria Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Thomas Richardson: Tyne & Wear Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Andrew Bowers: Hampshire Fire & Rescue Service 
  • Mr Kevin Taylor: Hampshire Fire & Rescue Service
  • Ms Brenda Gillan: Scottish Fire & Rescue Service
  • Mr Kevin Phillip: Scottish Fire & Rescue Service
Queen's Gallantry Medals (QGM)

The QGM is a decoration awarded for exemplary acts of bravery by civilians, and by members of the Armed Forces "not in the face of the enemy".

  • Mr Daniel Cooper: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Mr Wayne Ansell: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Mr Simon Best: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Mr Ricky Davis: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Mr Chris Meadows: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Mr Radoslaw Pejka: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • Mr Simon Waddingham: Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
Back to news