The Queen recognises UK firefighters in the 2018 Birthday Honours

Her Majesty the Queen has announced this year's Birthday Honours.

NFCC Chair Roy Wilsher, said: “I am delighted to see so many people across the fire sector honoured by Her Majesty the Queen in this year’s Birthday Honours list. I would like to offer my congratulations to everyone who has received an honour and had their hard work  in making a difference to people’s lives recognised. It is not only people’s contribution to the fire service, but also to the communities they serve.”

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Stewart Edgar (QFSM). Chief Fire Officer, Gloucester FRS

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Faisal Atcha, Firefighter and Community Volunteer, Gloucestershire FRS
  • Robert Nicholas, On-call Crew Commander, Hertfordshire FRS
  • Dominic Furby, Assistant Divisional Commander West Yorkshire FRS (retired)
  • Lorraine Smith, Station Manager, South Yorkshire FRS
  • Alastair Boyle, Deputy Assistant CFO (retired) Scottish FRS and services to charity, particularly Anthony Nolan Partnership
  • Ronald Nicholl, Firefighter, services to the Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service
  • John Powell, Watch Manager, Dorset & Wiltshire FRS, for services to the RNLI and community of Bournemouth

Medal of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

  • Joanne Todd, Watch Commander, Hertfordshire FRS
  • Denis Black,  Firefighter, services to Northern Ireland FRS

Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service

  • Karen Adams, Group Manager, Dorset and Wiltshire FRS
  • Robert Cross, Regional Fire Investigation Dog Handler, Watch Manager, Derbyshire FRS
  • Huw Jakeway, Chief Fire Officer, South Wales FRS
  • Paul Argyle, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Greater Manchester FRS
  • Libby Logan, Area Manager, Scottish FRS
  • Rosemary Curtis, Watch Manager, Scottish FRS
  • David Rout, LSO (retired) Scottish FRS

The honours system recognises people who have made achievements in public life, committed themselves to serving and helping Britain. People receiving the honours would have been nominated for having made life better for other people, or for being outstanding at what they do.

Civilian gallantry awards recognise bravery by people who have attempted to - or saved the life - of a British citizen who isn’t a family member or close friend.

Nominations are judged on: degree of risk, how aware the nominee was of the danger, persistence. The decision about whether someone gets an honour and what they received is taken by an honours committee. The committee’s decision go to the Prime Minister and then to the Queen, who awards the honour. 

Please see the full list of this year's Queen's Birthday Honours and the list for Scotland.

Back to news